Planning Commission

The Planning Commission consists of seven qualified electors of the City appointed by the City Council. The duties of the Commission are outlined in the City Charter and generally include reviewing and recommending changes to the municipal code for items related to land use and recommendations to the Council for the adoption of a comprehensive plan or plan amendments. Duties also include reviewing applications for variances, conditional uses, and subdivisions. The Commission is authorized to make final decisions on some applications while others require recommendations to the Council. 

Planning Commission Members

  • Susan Welk-Valdez, Chair
  • Fay Mathews, Vice-Chair
  • Cecilia Tafoya, Commissioner
  • Katie Bowers, Commissioner
  • Tim Gallegos, Commissioner
  • David Mills, Commissioner
  • Gerald Roberts, Commissioner